Skip to main content
Print Page

Undesirable Medical Advertisements Ordinance

 

Undesirable Medical Advertisements Ordinance

The Undesirable Medical Advertisements Ordinance (UMAO), Cap. 231, was first enacted in 1953. It aims to protect public health through prohibiting or restricting the publication of advertisements for medicine, surgical appliance or treatment that may induce the seeking of improper management of certain health conditions. In order to widen the scope of the UMAO, the Undesirable Medical Advertisements (Amendment) Ordinance 2005 (UMA(A)O) was enacted by the Legislative Council in 2005. For details of the UMA(A)O, please visit the website of Government Logistics Department at http://www.gld.gov.hk/egazette/english/search_gazette/search_gazette.html .

One of the major amendments of the Ordinance was to extend the prohibition/ restriction on advertising to six groups of claims specified in a schedule (Schedule 4) which applied to all orally consumed products, (whether or not it is a medicine but does not include a product which is customarily consumed only as food or drink). Other major amendments included increasing the penalties for contravention of UMAO, empowering the Director of Health to appoint inspectors to enforce the Ordinance and amendments to Schedules 1 and 2.

The amendments related to the Schedules 1 and 2 under the UMA(A)O have been implemented since 2006 while the remaining provisions have come into force since 1st June 2012.

According to the UMAO, no person shall publish, or cause to be published the following :

  • Any advertisements likely to lead to the use of any medicine, surgical appliance or treatment for
    • the purpose of treating human beings for, or preventing them from contracting any disease or condition specified in column 1 of Schedule 1 (except for a purpose specified in column 2 of that Schedule); or
    • treating human beings for any purpose specified in Schedule 2 of the Ordinance
  • Any advertisement: offering to procure a miscarriage of women; canvassing, inviting or inducing the procuration of miscarriage of women; or referring to any thing in terms which are calculated to lead to the use of that thing for the procuration of miscarriage of women
  • An advertisement for an orally consumed product which makes for the product a claim specified in column 1 of Schedule 4, or any similar claim, except as allowed under the provisions in column 2 of that Schedule

Please refer to the Chapter 231 of Law of Hong Kong for the details of the Ordinance. In order to assist the trade to better understand the Ordinance, the Department of Health has prepared the "Guidelines on Undesirable Medical Advertisements Ordinance" and "Frequently Asked Questions". Members of the public are welcomed to download the guidelines or collect them from the Drug Office, 3/F, Public Health Laboratory Centre, 382 Nam Cheong Street, Kowloon. Please visit the Hong Kong e-Legislation at http://www.elegislation.gov.hk for details of the UMAO (Cap.231).

 
 
back

跳 至 主 要 內 容
列印頁面

不 良 廣 告 (醫 藥) 條 例

 

《不良廣告(醫藥)條例》

《不良廣告(醫藥)條例》(《條例》)(第231章),首先於1953年制定,目的是透過禁止/限制為藥物、外科器具或療法發布可能引導市民尋求不當方法以治理某些病況的廣告,從而保障公眾健康。為進一步擴闊《條例》的適用範圍,《2005年不良醫藥廣告(修訂)條例》(《修訂條例》)已於2005年在立法會通過。詳情請瀏覧政府物流服務署的網頁
http://www.gld.gov.hk/egazette/tc_chi/search_gazette/search_gazette.html

《條例》其中一個主要修訂是將禁止/限制的聲稱擴展至附表4內六類適用於所有口服產品(不論該產品是否藥物,惟慣常作為食品或飲品食用或飲用者除外)的聲稱。其他主要修訂包括增加違反條例的罰則、由衞生署署長授權督察執行《條例》及對附表1及附表2作出修訂。

《修訂條例》中對附表1及附表2所作的修訂已於2006年起實施。而其餘《修訂條例》的條文亦已於2012年6月1日起生效。

根據《條例》,任何人不得發布或安排發布:

  • 任何相當可能導致他人為以下目的而使用任何藥物、外科用具或療法的廣告
    • 治療人類患上或預防他們染上《條例》內附表1第1欄內所指明的疾病或病理情況(但如作該附表第2欄內所指明的用途,則屬例外)﹔或
    • 附表2所指明的任何目的治療人類
  • 任何要約促致婦女進行流產;勸誘、吸引或誘使促致婦女進行流產;或提述任何物品而措詞刻意導致他人使用該物品作促致婦女進行流產之用的廣告
  • 任何為口服產品作出附表4第1欄所指明的聲稱或任何類似的聲稱的廣告,但根據該附表第2欄的條文屬被容許者,則屬例外

請參考香港法例(第231章)以了解《條例》詳情。為協助業界了解《條例》,衞生署編寫了 “《不良廣告(醫藥)條例》指引”和“常見問題”。歡迎巿民下載指引或親臨位於九龍南昌街382號公共衞生檢測中心三樓藥物辦公室索取。 有關 《不良廣告(醫藥)條例》 (第231章) 的詳情 ‚亦請瀏覽「電子版香港法例」(http://www.elegislation.gov.hk)。

 
 
返 回