Skip to main content
Print Page

Be Cautious When Buying Medicines Overseas

 
Be Cautious When Buying Medicines Overseas

Hong Kong people are traveling overseas in increasing numbers and frequencies, and more and more people will purchase pharmaceutical products or medicines abroad as the price is attractive or they think those products are beneficial to their health. However, most of them may not be aware that medicines should be chosen and used with appropriate medical advice. In addition, the import and sale of pharmaceutical products in Hong Kong are controlled by relevant legislations and some people may have committed an offence without knowing it.

For personal use
Importation of pharmaceutical products is controlled under the Import and Export Ordinance (Cap. 60), and thus must be covered by a licence issued by Department of Health under delegated authority of the Director-General of Trade and Industry Department. However, pharmaceutical products imported in the accompanied personal baggage of a person entering Hong Kong for his or her personal use and in reasonable quantity may be exempted from licensing requirement.

However, products which have not been registered with the Pharmacy and Poisons Board of Hong Kong (the Board) in accordance with the Pharmacy and Poisons Ordinance (PPO, Cap. 138) are potentially harmful as their safety, quality and efficacy cannot be guaranteed. Thereby, you are advised not to purchase pharmaceutical products from doubtful overseas sources .

For sale in Hong Kong
In Hong Kong, pharmaceutical products must be registered before they can be sold, including sale over Internet. Any illegal sale of unregistered medicines will contravene the law and is a criminal offence. The maximum penalty is a fine at level 6 of Criminal Procedure Ordinance Cap 221 (HK$100,000) and to imprisonment for 2 years upon conviction.

In addition, even if the products are registered, their sale may be subject to different levels of control.You may have contravened the relevant legislation without the appropriate licences or authorisation in dealing with pharmaceutical products.

Definition of “pharmaceutical product” or “medicine”
According to the PPO, “pharmaceutical product” or “medicine” means, any substance, or combination of substances
(a) presented as having properties for treating or preventing disease in human beings or animals; or
(b)that may be used in, or administered to, human beings or animals, either with a view to -
(i) restoring, correcting or modifying physiological functions by exerting a pharmacological, immunological or metabolic action; or
(ii) making a medical diagnosis.
In general, if your product contains a drug substance in its composition, and is in a pharmaceutical dosage form (e.g. tablet, capsule), the product may be classified as a pharmaceutical product. Examples of drug substance include aspirin, paracetamol and sennosides. For more examples, please refer to the “Guidance Notes on Classification of Products as “Pharmaceutical Products” under the Pharmacy and Poisons Ordinance (Cap. 138)”:
http://www.drugoffice.gov.hk/eps/do/en/doc/guidelines_forms/Guide_on_PRClass.pdf.

Ends/ Thursday, 10 March 2016
Issued at HKT 11:30
 
back

跳 至 主 要 內 容
Print Page

外 遊 購 買 藥 物 的 注 意 事 項

 
外遊購買藥物的注意事項

香港人外遊次數日益增多和更頻密,而且越來越多人在外地購買藥劑製品或藥物,原因是價格比較便宜或他們認為那些產品對健康有裨益。然而,很多人未必留意到藥物應在醫生的建議下選擇和使用。此外,藥劑製品的進口和銷售在香港受到相關的法例規管,有些人不知道自己可能已觸犯法例。

供自用的藥劑製品
藥劑製品的進口受《進出口條例》(第60章)規管,凡進口此等物品都必須附有由工業貿易署署長授權衞生署所簽發的許可證。不過,如果是由進入香港境內的個人在其隨身行李之內攜帶合理數量的藥劑製品入境,而該等藥劑製品亦只是供其自用的話,則可獲豁免領取許可證。

然而,沒有根據《藥劑業及毒藥條例》(第138章)經香港藥劑業及毒藥管理局註冊的產品,可能有潛在風險,因為這些產品的安全、素質和效能沒有保證。因此,我們建議市民在外遊時,不應在外地購買來源可疑的藥劑製品。

供在香港銷售的藥劑製品
在香港,藥劑製品必須經過註冊才可銷售,當中包括在互聯網上銷售的藥劑製品。銷售任何未經註冊的藥物會觸犯法例,並屬刑事罪行。一經定罪,最高刑罰為<<刑事訴訟程序條例>>(第221章)的第六級罰款(港幣100,000)及監禁2年。

此外,藥劑製品即使已經註冊,其銷售都會受到不同程度的監管。如你在沒有適當的牌照或授權下銷售相關藥劑製品,你可能會觸犯相關法例。

“藥劑製品”或“藥物”的定義
根據《藥劑業及毒藥條例》(第138章),「藥劑製品」或「藥物」的定義,指施用於人或動物,並且用作下列用途的任何物質或物質組合:
(a)被表述為具有治療或預防人類或動物的疾病的特性;或
(b)可應用或施用於人類或動物,其目的是
(i) 透過藥理、免疫或新陳代謝作用,以恢復、矯正或改變生理機能;或
(ii) 作出醫學診斷。
一般來說,如產品的成分組合含有藥物物質和以藥劑劑型的形式(例如片劑、膠囊等)出現,該產品可能會被歸類為藥劑製品。藥物物質的例子包括阿士匹靈、對乙醯氨基酚和番瀉苷。請參考“根據《藥劑業及毒藥條例》(第138章)將產品歸類為「藥劑製品」的指引”,以查閱更多有關“藥物物質”的例子。
http://www.drugoffice.gov.hk/eps/do/tc/doc/guidelines_forms/Guide_on_PRClass.pdf

2016年3月10日
 
back